Pakistan among new countries added to England’s travel ban list

Pakistan and Bangladesh are among four additional countries added to the “red list” of nations from where travel to and from England is banned to control the spread of coronavirus. Philippines, Pakistan, Kenya and Bangladesh have been added to England’s red list to protect the country against new variants of coronavirus.

The ban announced on Friday will come into effect from April 9 and also cover the Philippines and Kenya in response to concerns about new variants of COVID-19 in those regions, like those detected in South Africa and Brazil. Those who come to Britain from countries on the red list will be refused entry, while returning Britons must submit to 10 days of mandatory quarantine in hotels. There have been calls for the inclusion of some European countries where COVID-19 cases have surged, but the government has said it currently has no plans to do so. India currently is not on the red list of countries, with an air bubble arrangement in operation for essential travel while non-essential international travel from the UK remains banned under current lockdown rules.