More About Navrathi Rituals

Navratri celebrates the existence of the ultimate source of power that is the Nine forms of Maa Durga. Devotees of Goddess Durga, follow a various sets of rituals for the nine days of Navratri. It is the most powerful period in existence. In the auspicious and awe-inspiring occasion, divine love pervades through all the devotees who indulge in the rituals and customs.

Navratri Vrat Vidhi and Tithi

9 avatars of Goddess Durga are worshipped by several rituals and pujas during Navarathri. Navratri begins with the puja of Goddess Durga’s Shailaputri avatar followed by all incarnations of Shakti such as Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skandamata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Mahagauri and Sidhidatri. According to Hindu mythology, every avatar of almighty Shakti possesses different powers and to seek their blessings, following the rituals in the right way is essential. Here’s the details of the Puja tithi, vidhi, colour and foods that can be offered as prasad during the 9-day celebration.

Day 1: Goddess Shailaputri

On this day, Goddess Durga’s Shailputri avatar is worshipped. As per Hindu mythology, Shilaputri avtar is an incarnation of Goddess Parvati. She is also worshipped as Lord Shiva’s wife Mahakali. It is believed that worshipping Goddess Shilaputri can bring prosperity and can remove the bad effect of the moon. The colour of this day is orange. Offering Jasmine flowers and cow ghee to the deity can bring good fortune and fulfill wishes and good health.

Day 2 : Goddess Brahmacharini

The 2nd day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Brahmacharini. Worshipping the Brahmacharini avatar of Goddess Durga brings peace and prosperity. It is believed that Lord Mangal is governed by Brahmacharini avatar of Goddess Durga.
On this day, fasting is most important as it was believed that Goddess Brahmacharini spent 1000 years on the diet of flowers and fruits and another 100 years on the diet on leafy vegetables while sleeping on the floor. According to the rituals, she consumed Bilva leaves for 3000 years as she prayed to Lord Shiva and later she started fasting to get Lord Shiva as her Husband. White is the colour of this day. On this day offering sugar and Panchamrit as a bhog can impress the Goddess and bring happiness and prosperity.

Day 3 : Goddess Chandraghanta

The third day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Chandraghanta. This avatar of Goddess Durga is the married form of the Goddess Parvati. It is believed that after her marriage with Lord Shiva, Goddess Mahagauri started adorning her forehead with half Chandra and due to which Goddess Parvati was known as Goddess Chandraghanta. Devotees seeking the blessing of Lord Shukra must worship Goddess Chandraghanta to seek peace, prosperity and happiness. The half-moon on her forehead symbolizes her beauty and bravery! The colour offered must be red on this day. Offering Kheer and Milk based delicacies as a prasad can bring wealth, good health and prosperity in the family.

Day 4 : Goddess Kushmanda

Goddess Kushmanda is worshipped on the fourth day of Navratri. It is believed that this avatar of Goddess Durga has the power to reside inside the Sun. Offering red flowers to deity bring blessings. Royal Blue is the fourth day colour. Making and distributing a bhog of Malpua on this day strengthens will power and intelligence.

Day 5 : Goddess Skandamata

Goddess Skandamata, the mother of Skanda(Kartikeya) is worshipped on the 5th day of Navratri. This avatar of Goddess Parvati symbolizes the strength of a mother and how she protects her child. It is believed that worshipping this avatar of Shakti improves the planetary position of Budha planet. The colour is yellow on this day. On this day offering a banana or banana based delicacies as a bhog can bring professional growth and can improve health condition.

Day 6 : Goddess Katyayani

This day is dedicated to worshipping the Katyayani avatar of Goddess Parvati. Goddess Katyayani is believed to be the Warrior Goddess and is full of rage, unlike other forms of Parvati. It is believed that the planet Brihaspati is governed by Goddess Katyayani and green is the colour of the day. Worshipping the deity with Honey or Meethe Paan (sweet betel leaf) removes negativity and brings happiness.

Day 7 : Goddess Kalaratri

The 7th day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Kalaratri. The Kalaratri avatar of Shakti symbolizes rage and worshipping her on this day protects devotees from all kinds of sufferings. Grey is the colour of the seventh day of Navrathri. Offering a bhog of Jaggery or delicacies made with jaggery on this day can bring in positive vibes and protect devotees from suffering.

Day 8 : Goddess Mahagauri

On this day Goddess Mahagauri is worshipped. It is believed that worshipping the Goddess with night blooming Jasmine brings peace and intelligence. Purple is the colour.  On this day, offering Coconut and delicacies made with coconut can bring prosperity, happiness and wealth.

Day 9 : Goddess Sidhidatri

The 9th day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Sidhidatri. Worshipping Goddess on this day can fulfill all wishes as it is believed that this avtar of Shakti possesses many Sidhis and worshipping her in the right way can bring happiness, good health and prosperity. This is also the day, when Sandhi Puja is performed to seek the blessing of Goddess Durga. The ninth day colour is peacock green. On this day offering a prasad of Halwa, Poori and Kheer and performing Kanya Poojan is the best way to seek the blessings of Goddess Durga.