IFFK Suvarna Chakoram for best film for ‘This Is Not A Burial, It’s A Resurrection’

The 25th International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) concluded in Kerala on Friday with the announcement of awards for the best films and filmmakers. ​South African film ‘This is Not a Burial, It’s a Resurrection’ by Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese bagged the Golden Peacock award for best film. ​​Veteran filmmaker Adoor Gopalakrishnan gave away the awards at the closing ceremony

South African film ‘This Is Not A Burial, It’s A Resurrection’, by Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, won the award for its visual power and a tour de force performance by the late Mary Kuksie Twala in the depiction of an Africa resisting neo-colonisation while dealing with the trauma and scars of its colonial past. The film was chosen unanimously by the international jury. Lijo Jose Pelliserry directorial ‘Churuli’ won the best film award in audience poll. Lijo also won the special mention for best director in the international film competition. Bahman Tavoosi won the Rajata Chakoram for best director. He won the award for the movie ‘The Names of the Flowers’. Rajata Chakoram for best debut director was awarded to Alejandro Telemaco Tarraf. The Argentinian director won the award for the film ‘Piedra Sola’. ‘In Between Dying’ directed by Hilal Baydarov won FIPRESCI award for best film iinternational competition.

Suraj Venjaramoodu and Soubin Shahir starrer ‘Android Kunjappan Version 5.25′ directed by Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval bagged FIPRESCI award for best Malayalam film. Akshay Indikar bagged FFSI KR Mohanan award for best debut director from India. Along with this, he also won NETPAC award for his debut movie ‘Chronicle of Space’ (‘Sthalapuran’). ‘Musical Chair’ directed by Vipin Atley won the NETPAC award for best Malayalam Film.