Kerala Film Critics Awards announced

‘The Great Indian Kitchen’ directed by Jeo Baby has bagged the award for the best film at the Kerala Film Critics Awards for the year 2020. While Jeo Baby will take home the trophy for Best Picture, Siddartha Siva has been accorded Best Director for Ennivar. The 45th Kerala Film Critics Awards were announced on Monday.

Prithviraj and Biju Menon shared the best actor award for their performance in ‘Ayyappanum Koshiyum’ while Surabhi Lekshmi (Jwalamukhi) and Samyuktha Menon (Aanum Pennum, Vellam and Wolf) shared the award for the best actress. In addition to the above, veteran filmmaker KG George will be honored with the Chalachithra Ratnam Award for his outstanding contribution to cinema, and director K Harikumar, who has completed 40 years in the film industry, will be presented with the Critics Ruby Jubilee Award. The awards were announced by George Onakkoor, president of the association and jury chairman. The jury members included Thekkinkad Joseph, Balan Thirumala, Aravindan Vallachira, Joseph Mathew Pala, Suku Palkulangara and A Chandrasekhar. A total of 34 films were considered by the jury. Actor Mamukkoya, actor Saikumar and actress Bindu Panicker will be presented with the Chalachitra Prathibha Puraskaram for their diverse roles.

Other awards
Second Best Film: Vellam (Samir)
Best Debutant Award
Actor: Anand Roshan
Actress: Afsana Lakshmi (Velutha Madhuram)
Direction: Vian Vishnu
(Ek Din)
Special Jury Awards
Direction: Zeenat (Randaam Naal)
Jinoy Jebit (Kozhipporu)
Lyricist: B T Anilkumar (Leica)