MTV Video Music Awards 2021

Justin Bieber and Megan Thee Stallion are this year’s most nominated artists at the ongoing MTV Video Music Awards that are being held in New York. Doja Cat hosted the night and performed. The stacked list of performers also included Camila Cabello, Chlöe (of Chloe x Halle, making her solo debut), Jack Harlow, Justin Bieber, Kacey Musgraves, The Kid Laroi, Lil Nas X, Machine Gun Kelly, Olivia Rodrigo, Ozuna, Shawn Mendes, Tainy and Twenty One Pilots.

Justin Bieber won artist of the year and kicked off the ceremony with an energetic performance that featured him rappelling from the ceiling of Barclays Center and launching into Stay with Kid LAROI and his single Ghost. The leading nominee heading into the show, Bieber also took home the best pop song honor with Giveon for Peaches. Megan followed Bieber with six nominations. Olivia Rodrigo won the night’s first award, Push Performance of the Year, presented to her on the red carpet. South Korean band BTS or Bangtan Sonyeondan walked away with the Group of the Year Award, Song of Summer and the Best K-Pop Award at the 2021 MTV Video Music Awards. The septet consisting of RM, Jin, Suga, Jimin, J-Hope, V and Jungkook was also nominated in several other categories including the Song of the Year for Dynamite and Best Pop, Best Editing, Song of Summer and Best Choreography for Butter. In addition to MTV, the VMAs were also simulcast across CMT, Comedy Central, Logo, MTV2, Nickelodeon, Paramount Network, Pop, TV Land, VH1 and The CW Network, and streaming is available on Paramount Plus.