Arvind Kejriwal as AAP supremo for a third term

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was re-elected as the national convenor of the AAP for the third time at the national executive meeting of the party on Sunday, according to an official statement. Party leaders Pankaj Gupta and N D Gupta were elected as secretary and treasurer, respectively, it said.

The office-bearers have been elected for a tenure of five years. The national executive of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) had elected a new 34-member executive body on Saturday. In its first meeting held on Sunday virtually, the newly elected national executive of the party proposed to appoint a national convener, national secretary and national treasurer, the statement said. “All executive members unanimously agreed to elect senior party leader Arvind Kejriwal as the national convener,” the statement said. The constitution earlier said, “No member will hold the same post as an office-bearer for more than two consecutive terms of three years each.” Earlier this year, the party’s constitution was amended to allow for the same person to be office bearers in the party more than twice. After the amendment, which was made in January 2021, the duration of the term has been increased to five years and the bar on the number of terms for officer bearers has been lifted, sources said. Kejriwal’s second term as national convener was to end in April 2019 but it was extended for a year in 2018 in view of the Lok Sabha and Delhi Assembly elections. The meeting of the council was then postponed in 2020 because of the pandemic.