Congress Leader Kodikunumil Suresh Elected Pro-Tem Speaker of Lok Sabha

New Delhi: Congress leader Kodikunumil Suresh has been elected as the pro tem speaker of the Lok Sabha. Kodikunnil Suresh, the nominated MP of Mavelikkara constituency, will take oath of MPs. Suresh will take the oath before the President before the start of the Parliament session. He will perform the duties of the Speaker until a new Speaker is elected.

Suresh contested for the first time in Kodikunnu in 1989 in Adoor assembly elections. In 1989, 1991, 1996 and 1999, he became a member of the Lok Sabha from Attur. He lost the 1998 and 2004 elections. He became MP for Mavelikkara in 2009, 2014, 2019 and 2024 elections. He was the Minister of State for Labor during the second UPA government.

8-year-old Kodicunvil Suresh is an MP from Mavelikkara Lok Sabha constituency. Kodikunnil is the senior most member of Parliament. Suresh will be administered the oath of office by President Draupadi Murmu Kodikunnil during the parliamentary session on June 24. Meanwhile, Suresh will be in charge of administering the oath to the cabinet members and other MPs.

Subordination is to make a senior member of the House the speaker pro tem. BJP who was a nine-time MP. Member Menaka Gandhi lost the election this time. Currently, BJP has reached the Lok Sabha eight times. Member Dr. Senior members are Virendra Kumar and Suresh Kodikunil. Dr. Virendra Kumar was sworn in as minister on Sunday.

UDF candidate Kodikunnil Suresh won by 9,501 votes in Mavelikkara, where the election results changed. Kodikunnil Suresh, who is well-known in the constituency, was replaced by newcomer C.A. Arunkumar was shaken but eventually won the flag.The Lok Sabha session will begin on June 24. Ends on July 3. In a 9-day special session, the Speaker election will be held on June 26.

BJP’s Om Birla was the speaker in the 17th Lok Sabha. The post of Deputy Speaker is vacant. With India Alliance winning 233 seats, the opposition parties are in high spirits. Even though the Modi-led NDA formed the government for the third consecutive term, the backlash in the Hindi heartland of UP, Rajasthan and Haryana has faded.

With the formation of the front government in its true sense after a gap of 10 years, allies including the TDP are eyeing the post of Speaker. However, the BJP is also adamant that it cannot give up the post of Speaker.

The post of Speaker is considered a symbol of the power and control of the ruling party or ruling front in the Lok Sabha. Along with the Speaker, the Constitution also provides for the election of the Deputy Speaker. In the absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker will preside over the proceedings of the House.

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer of the joint sitting of the Parliament. The speaker also decides whether a bill is a money bill or not. The Lok Sabha Committee also functions under the chairmanship of the Speaker. According to the constitution, Deputy Speaker is an independent office. It does not work under the speaker.

Suresh’s victory in Kodikun in Mavelikkara in 2024 is more than ten thousand votes. Kodikunnil Suresh, the sitting MP of the constituency, is contesting the Lok Sabha for the 10th time. He was a member of the Lok Sabha for 27 years, winning seven terms. Kodikunnil Suresh won the 2019 elections from Mavelikkara by a majority of 61,000 votes. He was the Union Minister of State for Labor in the second Manmohan Singh cabinet reshuffle on 28 October 2012. Member of Lok Sabha from 1989 to 1998 and continuously since 2009. AICC member Suresh made his political entry through KSU. He was the KSU State Vice President from 1983 to 1997. He was the state general secretary of KSU from 1987 to 1990. He also served as the General Secretary of the All India Youth Congress.

He has been the KPCC Working Vice President since 2018. He contested the 1998 and 2004 Lok Sabha elections from Atur but lost to CPI’s Chengara Surendran. In the 2009 election, Kodikunnil, who won from the Mavelikkara reserved constituency, had found that he had produced a fake certificate and could not be considered as a Scheduled Caste member.

Then on May 12, 2011, the Supreme Court overturned the High Court verdict. He was born on June 4, 1962 as the son of Kunjan and Thankamma at Kodikunum in Thiruvananthapuram district. After his primary education, he obtained his law degree from the Government Law College. Bindu is his wife. Has a son.