Election date for Rajya Sabha seats in Kerala has been announced

Elections to the vacant Rajya Sabha seats in Kerala will be held on August 24. Elections are being held to fill the vacancy created by the death of MP Veerendra Kumar.

The election notification will be released in August. The last date for submission of nomination papers is the 13th. On scrutiny 14. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is 17. The Election Commission has informed that the election process will be completed before August 26. The Election Commission has directed that the election be completed in full compliance with the COVID norms. The seat has been vacant since May 25 following the death of Veerendra Kumar. The winner can remain an MP until April 2, 2022. Elections to a seat in Uttar Pradesh along with Kerala will be held on the same day. It is in the vacancy left by Beni Prasad Verma.

Rajya Sabha elections are the set of indirect elections by the members of State legislatures of India, to elect new members to fill vacancies in the Rajya Sabha – the upper house of the Parliament of India. The elections are held annually and throughout the year on an ad hoc basis. The elections in 2020 are for a total of 73 seats of which 55 of them were to be elected by March 26. The remaining were postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Election Commission of India later announced all the elections for the remaining 24 Rajya Sabha seats were to be held on 19 June 2020.