New criminal laws will come into effect from July 1

New Delhi: Three new laws that will radically overhaul the country’s criminal justice system will come into effect on July 1. The government notified Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Samhita, Bharatiya Nyaya Samhita and Bharatiya Saksha.

Three bills were passed in Parliament on December 21. Then on 25th the President approved these. All the three laws will come into effect on July 1, the Union Home Ministry said in a notification.

The new laws were introduced to replace the Indian Penal Code, Criminal Procedure Code and Indian Evidence Act which were enacted during the British rule.