ISRO espionage case conspiracy: CBI files FIR against 18 former cops

The CBI team probing the conspiracy behind the ISRO spy case has filed an FIR in the Thiruvananthapuram Chief Judicial Magistrate Court in Kerala. The FIR names 18 former officers of the Kerala Police and the Intelligence Bureau as accused. Former Pettah station Inspector S Vijayan is listed as the first accused, while Pettah station Sub-inspector Thambi S Durgadath is the second accused.

Former City Police Commissioner V R Rajeevan is the third accused, and former DGP Sibi Mathews is listed as the fourth accused. Former IB Deputy Director R B Sreekumar is listed as the seventh accused. The supreme court had directed the CBI to probe the case into the conspiracy following which scientist Nambi Narayanan was made accused in the espionage case. CBI registered the case in May this year. FIR was registered including a list of people who allegedly included Nambi Narayanan and others in the spy case, that was a result of a conspiracy. The spy case erupted in 1994 when Narayanan was arrested on charges of espionage along with another senior official of ISRO, two Maldivian women, and a businessman. The CBI acquitted him in 1995 and since then, he has been fighting a legal battle against the then top police officials including retired DGP Siby Mathews, S Vijayan, and KK Joshua, who probed the case and implicated Narayanan.

Earlier, the espionage case was investigated by the CBI and found it was a fabricated case. Following this, Nambi Narayanan was acquitted. The CBI demanded a probe into the conspiracy which led to the espionage case.