Lok Sabha election: Re-polling at 11 booths in Manipur today

Repolling today in 11 booths in Manipur. The Election Commission has decided to conduct repolling in booths where polling was completely disrupted due to incidents of violence during the first phase of the elections held on 19th.

Voting will be held from 7 am to 5 pm. In the wake of repolling, heavy security has been put in place at the booths. On the polling day of 2019, the police fired in the air to disperse those who had come to capture booths in Bishnupur. Elections for the rest of the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha constituencies will be held on Friday.

Repolling will be held in Moirankampu Sajeb and Thongam Leikai in Khurai constituency, four in Kshetrigou in Imphal East district, one in Thongju, three in Uripok and Kontaujam in Imphal West district. Firing, threats of attack and other incidents including destruction of EVM machines were also reported from Manipur. 72 percent polling was recorded in Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur on Friday.

The Manipur Congress had demanded repolling in 47 polling stations alleging that the election was rigged. Manipur Congress president K Meghchandra informed that the Congress has filed a complaint with the Chief Electoral Officer seeking repolling in 36 polling stations of Inner Manipur constituency and 11 polling stations of Outer Manipur constituency.