PM Modi to chair all-party meeting on Jammu and Kashmir

All eyes are set on the all-party meeting on Jammu and Kashmir which will be chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday in Delhi. Fourteen leaders, including four former chief ministers (CMs) of the then state have been invited.

A total of 14 leaders, including National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, PDP chief Mehbooba Mufti, People’s Conference leader Sajad Lone and Muzaffar Hussain Baig and Apni Party leader Altaf Bukhari, are attending the meet at the Prime Minister’s residence in Delhi. BJP J&K unit leaders Kavinder Gupta, Nirmal Singh, and Ravinder Singh, and Bhim Singh from J&K Panthers are also attending today’s meet. This is the first meeting between PM Modi and the leaders of J&K since the Centre scrapped Jammu and Kashmir’s special status and bifurcated it into two Union Territories in August 2019. National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah is likely to speak first following which other leaders will present their views in the meeting one by one. Home Minister Amit Shah will address the leaders after they finish speaking. PM Modi is also likely to speak during the meeting before it concludes.