The first phase of the election campaign in Bihar will end today

Bihar elections to be held in three phases, the first phase of the election campaign will end today. The ruling NDA, led by the BJP and Janata Dal-United, and the Progressive Democratic Alliance, led by the Janata Dal, the Congress, the Left, the Mahagatbandhan, the SDPI, and the Azad Samaj Party, are in the fray.

As the advertising campaign came to an end today, the leaders of all the fronts began the final touches. The Prime Minister and Rahul Gandhi arrived in the state on Friday to the campaign. Nitish Kumar of the JDU is the NDA’s chief ministerial candidate. A rally led by JP Nadda, Tejaswi Yadav, and Lok Janshakti Party chief Chirag Paswan is also being held today. The first phase of elections will be held in 71 assembly constituencies in 16 districts. There are 31,000 polling stations across the state.

There are 1,066 candidates in the fray. There are 2,1,46,960 voters. The government has beefed up security in Naxal-hit areas. This time the election will be held in 3 phases. The results will be announced on November 10 after the elections on October 28, November 3, and November 7.

Election Rally 1
Election Rally 1

The main campaign against the RJD by the BJP-JDU-United alliance is that law and order have failed during their last tenure. The RJD also alleges that the ruling party failed to offer 10 lakh jobs. In 2015, the JD (U) and RJD contested the elections together. He won 178 seats in the 243 – member assembly. After 20 months, the two parties split. In 2017, the JDU will be part of the NDA again.